System Rescue CD & Spinrite


I am a great fan of System Rescue CD. It is a great distribution for fixing computers. It is basically a gentoo installation customised with a whole lot of tools for fixing systems. Disk partitioning, wiping, password resetting, etc. As well some tools that are separate bootable images like memtest and freedos. I also have and like Spinrite which is not a free tool, so can’t be included in the distribution, but I wanted to find a way of adding this to a USB drive so I had all these tools on the same USB stick.

First I used the included scripts to create the USB stick as a System Repair CD image.

I found that the text file in syslinux/syslinux.cfg that had the menu system in. Looking through this there is a section:

MENU BEGIN
MENU TITLE A) Run system tools from floppy disk image...

I added the following to this menu item and copied my spinrite.img file to the bootdisk directory.

LABEL SpinRite
MENU LABEL SpinRite: Analyse and recover disk problems
kernel memdisk
append initrd=/bootdisk/spinrite.img floppy raw

Works a treat.

Leave a Reply

