A lesson on takeing my own advise


When others have problems installing software, or are getting a strange error message, I always tell them to put the exact text of the error message into Google and they are assured of finding the answer to their problems. Well I should take my own advise.

I was rebuilding my MythTV server. I originally built it with gentoo, but I hadn’t been keeping it up to date, but it had been running very reliably. So I decided to rebuild it with mythbuntu.

The install went very smoothly, then it crashed with some enormous traceback in the boot sequence. It looked like some sort of disk problem. I first suspected the lvm setup I had. There are 3 drives, the first had partitions for /boot swap, and the root partition / the rest of this drive was part of a lvm extent along with the next 2 drives to make enough space for the /media partition where all the recordings would go.

I spent a day installing various things and reinstalling, verifying the CD’s I had burned. Before I finally put the likely looking error message into google which pointed me to this post. Then rebuilt the system back to mythbuntu, fired up my trusty system rescue CD added the blacklist modules. All went perfectly after that.

The following week I was up in Yorkshire helping Jen’s Mum prepare for her move, and thought I would upgrade my nc10 to the beta of Ubuntu 9.04. There are a couple of relevant fixes I wanted to get, and ok it is beta, but this machine is not that critical to me yet. The live mode seemed to work and I couldn’t find any major issues, so I set the install running.

When it came to getting updates, I plugged into her router, but no connection. I then spent most of a day, swapping cables, ports, rebooting with the live CD, all to no avail. I thought I had blown the ethernet port, or messed up the routers dhcp settings. I couldn’t even get the interface up with a fixed IP address.

I had ignored the strange error from ipconfig when I tried to allocate a fixed IP address.

:~$ ipconfig eth0 192.168.0.16
SIOCSIFADDR: No buffer space available

But when I finally put this error into google, I cam up with this. A very specific break with some specific ethernet connections, and a very specific range of kernel revisions.

So the moral is…

Leave a Reply

